A simple meal .

 

Just around the corner the Nettle patch is looking up with new ,young leaves . I reach down and grab few with bear hands allowing the prickly contact to awaken me into a new day.

IMG_1022

In Gratitude I fill my basket feeling so loved and so abundant . Earth , The Mother is gifting us with her first bounty , in turn I give her my Soul’s songs and dreams .

IMG_1023

I dry some of the fresh Nettle  and the rest I rinse and start preparing for a simple meal I have learned from Grandma . It used to be our Spring feast and to this day I crave its taste. Besides , when we come out the winter and we feel weak , Nettle comes to the rescue . Its  health benefits made this humble plant into a superstar .

The recipe is simple . Boil water with a pinch of salt and throw the rinsed nettles in for two three minutes . Drain and chop but save the broth. You will use some later in the recipe and the rest you can drink , rinse your hair or dye your favorite scarf with .

IMG_1026

Saute’ one onion and few cloves of garlic in two -three tablespoons of olive oil. When the onion looks soft and shiny throw the chopped nettle in and mix gently . Let it simmer for five to ten minutes and add some broth ( a ladle or two ) . Let it simmer at medium heat for another ten minutes and is ready .

You can pair it with some golden polenta or just bread and sunny side up eggs . I like it either way with some extra fresh garlic and without eggs .

IMG_1034

4 thoughts on “A simple meal .

  1. It looks glorious – and full of goodness. I, too, relish taking my share of nature’s bounty and turning it into a nutritious meal. Enjoy the new season in your part of the world, and renew your strength through nature’s generosity. I shall be thinking of you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Sylvia I am delighted to share with you , always.
      Your garden looks amazing. Here we just start . I just transplanted Kale today . Salad and Arugula will follow tomorrow.
      Thank you for keeping me in your beautiful Heart.
      I will extend my etheric roots to meet you across time and space.
      Thank you . From my Heart to Yours.

      Like

Leave a Reply

